If you don't know anything about it, photography is easy!

The countdown is on, with 7 days to go until the start of our NatGeo journey, where we will travel to France, England, Scotland, Wales and Ireland in just 2 months. Stay tuned and subscribe to my blog ( ← right here on the left in the black field) to get photo tips & tricks, see nice photos or just get travel tips.

France2011-38.jpg
One of my first photos of France, was also the cover of my National Geographic book "Old World, New World".

In the last few days, most of the things that come with the trip have already arrived: Food, DVDs, books, as well as a lot of photo equipment and sport & camping gear.

Our partners and sponsors also provided us with drinks, superfood & many delicious travel snacks, and my first Parrot Anafi Drone was also allowed to join us. With a resolution of 21 million pixels, plus the possibility to take pictures in DNG, I am especially looking forward to discovering new perspectives.

gb 12.jpg
no drone recording, but often I am looking for the highest point!

The equipment we use must of course also be mastered. If you should get a new camera shortly before your vacation, go out 1-2 times before and train to handle it like I did with my drone. Already with the first flight attempts I noticed how much fun it is!

IMG_3120
My first drone picture 😉

When I teach photography, I always mention that we should also keep some of our "innocent photographing". Because taking pictures was never difficult as long as you didn't understand anything about it. Look back to your childhood, where you might have simply grabbed your grandfather's camera and started taking pictures, or today, where kids and teenagers or numerous smartphone users just go for it without thinking much.

Sweden 11
Often photographs, which are spontaneous and without much thinking, have become the coolest of my career!

Of course you have to master the craft of photography, but in the end it's all about the shot and that should always be the focus.

gb 48
Ruins, castles often appear in b/w and with dramatic clouds all the more!

Are we planning our route? In general terms yes, but the advantage of a motorhome trip is that we are flexible and love to refine the route in detail every day. For the publishing house I take pictures of England & Scotland, parts of it we already travelled some time ago, now we add the missing places and locations.

route
Our first rough draft of the trip

My equipment for the trip will be the following: my new Leica M10, Leica M Monochrome, Leica SL, plus the lenses VARIO-ELMARIT-SL 1:2.8-4/24-90, APO-VARIO-ELMARIT-SL 1:2.8-4/90-280, SUMMILUX-M 1:1.4/24 mm, SUMMILUX-M 1:1.4/50, my Surface Book 2 15 inch & 16 GB memory, and the above mentioned drone.

Nelly and Manfred Baumann 2019
Drone recording of the two of us - a DNG file - which I cropped a little bit afterwards!

If you have questions, you can ask me these here anytime as a comment.

see you soon, your Manfred


Blog post provided by:

Fine material

15 Thoughts on "If you don't understand any of this, photography is easy!

  1. We are really looking forward to the photos of your trip, since we are also travelling in England in autumn, we hope for many tips! 😉

    1. Thanks for being there and reading! Love, and if there are any questions, just let me know.

  2. Since we have been to Scotland 3 times in the last 2 years I am very curious about your impressions!
    We love it in any case! Save Trip!!👍🏼👋☀️🦋💕

    1. we love england & scotland ... glad that you follow our blog! Have fun with our adventures

  3. Dear Manfred if you have the time, please write to me I would like to have a few photos of me, because my husband has passed away I need some nice pictures in my bedroom Thank you I would be happy Love Greetings Moni Schmied-Dorner

I look forward to your news!

%d bloggers like that:

Wenn man nichts davon versteht, ist fotografieren einfach!

Der Countdown läuft, noch 7 Tage bis zum Start unserer NatGeo Reise, wo wir Frankreich, England, Schottland, Wales und Irland in nur 2 Monaten bereisen werden. Bleibt dran und abonniert meinen Blog ( ← gleich hier links im schwarzen Feld) um Fototipps & Tricks zu erhalten, schöne Fotos zu sehen oder einfach Reisetipps zu bekommen.

France2011-38.jpg
Eines meiner ersten Frankreich-Fotos, wurde auch gleich das Cover meines Bildbandes von National Geographic „Alte Welt, neue Welt“

In den letzten Tagen sind bereits die meisten Dinge angekommen, welche mit auf die Reise kommen: Lebensmittel, DVDs, Bücher, so wie jede Menge Fotoequipment und Sport- & Campingutensilien.

Auch von unseren Partnern und Sponsoren wurden wir bestens mit Getränken, Superfood & vielen leckeren Reisesnacks versorgt, und auch meine erste Parrot Anafi Drone darf mit. Mit einer Auflösung von 21 Mio Pixel, plus der Möglichkeit in DNG zu fotografieren, freue ich mich ganz besonders darauf, neue Perspektiven zu entdecken.

gb 12.jpg
keine Drohnen-Aufnahme, aber oft bin ich auf der Suche nach dem höchsten Punkt!

Das Equipment, welches wir verwenden, muss natürlich auch beherrscht werden. Solltet Ihr Euch kurz vor dem Urlaub eine neue Kamera zulegen, geht 1-2 mal vorher damit raus und trainiert damit umzugehen, wie auch ich es schon meiner Drohne getan hab‘. Bereits bei den ersten Flug-Versuchen habe ich auch gleich gemerkt, wie viel Spaß das macht!

IMG_3120
Mein erstes Drohnen-Bild 😉

Wenn ich Fotografie unterrichte, erwähne ich stets, dass wir uns auch etwas von unserem „unschuldigen fotografieren“ behalten sollen. Denn das Fotografieren war nie schwierig, solange man nichts davon verstanden hat. Blickt einmal zurück in Eure Kindheit, wo ihr Euch vielleicht einfach den Fotoapparat vom Opa geschnappt und darauf los fotografiert habt, oder auch heute, wo Kids und Jugendliche bzw. zahlreiche Smartphone-User einfach drauf los legen ohne viel nachzudenken.

Schweden 11
Oft sind Fotografien, welche spontan und ohne viel nachzudenken, die coolsten meiner Karriere geworden!

Klaro muss man das Handwerk der Fotografie beherrschen, aber schlussendlich geht um die geschaffene Aufnahme und die sollte immer Fokus liegen.

gb 48
Ruinen, Schlösser wirken oft in S/W und mit dramatischen Wolken umso mehr!

Planen wir unsere Route? In groben Zügen ja, aber der Vorteil bei einer Wohnmobilreise liegt darin, dass wir flexibel sind, und es lieben die Route jeden Tag aufs Neue und im Detail zu verfeinern. Für den Verlag fotografiere ich Bilder von England & Schottland, Teile davon haben wir bereits vor einiger Zeit bereist, nun kommen noch die fehlenden Plätze und Orte hinzu.

route
Unser erster Rohentwurf der Reise

Meine Ausrüstung für die Reise wird folgende sein: meine neue Leica M10, Leica M Monochrome, Leica SL, dazu die Objektive VARIO-ELMARIT-SL 1:2.8-4/24-90, APO-VARIO-ELMARIT-SL 1:2.8-4/90-280, SUMMILUX-M 1:1,4/24 mm, SUMMILUX-M 1:1,4/50, mein Surface Book 2 15 Zoll & 16 GB Arbeitsspeicher, und die bereits oben erwähnte Drohne. 

Nelly und Manfred Baumann 2019
Drohnen-Aufnahme von uns beiden – ein DNG File – welches ich danach noch ein wenig gecropped habe!

Wenn Ihr Fragen habt, könnt Ihr mir diese hier jederzeit gerne als Kommentar stellen.

bis bald, Euer Manfred


Blog post provided by:

Feinstoff

15 Gedanken zu “Wenn man nichts davon versteht, ist fotografieren einfach!

  1. Wir freuen uns schon sehr auf die Fotos Eurer Reise, da wir im Herbst auch in England unterwegs sind, hoffen wir auf viele Tipps! 😉

  2. Da wir in den letzten 2 Jahren gleich 3x in Schottland waren bin ich schon sehr gespannt auf deine Eindrücke!
    Wir lieben es auf alle Fälle! Save Trip!!👍🏼👋☀️🦋💕

  3. Lieber Manfred wenn es deine Zeit mal erlaubt, bitte schreibe mich an würde gerne ein paar Fotos von mir haben ,da mein Mann verstorben ist brauche ich paar nette Bilder in mein Schlafzimmer Danke würde mich freuen Liebe Grüße Moni Schmied-Dorner

Ich freue mich auf Deine Nachricht!